MHRD is now MoE {Ministry of Education} National Education Policy 2020

The Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) is redesignated as the Ministry of Education (MoE). This was proposed in the National Education Policy 2020 (DRAFT). Todays Education should be based on the contemporary and futuristic needs of our large youth population. On the first day of Chair by Union Human Resource Development Minister, Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’. The Draft (Book) containing National Education Policy 2020 was proposed. Before this National Policy on Education was modified in 1992

Here are the Major Changes & Key Points in Education Policy 2020

  1. A new apex body, the Rashtriya Shiksha Aayog (RSA) or National Education Commission (NEC), will be constituted. It will be headed by the Prime Minister of India (PM Modi)
  2. Ministry of Education: In order to bring the focus back on education and learning, the MHRD will be redesignated as the Ministry of Education (MoE).

NEP 2020 – Key Points

Under the Rashtriya Shiksha Aayog (RSA), following National level apex bodies will oversee their  national education policy 2019smooth and effective functioning and report to the RSA

  • (Proposed/ New) National Higher Education Regulatory Authority (NHERA)
  • (Proposed/ New) General Education Council (GEC)
  • (Proposed/ New) Higher Education Grants Council (HEGC)
  • (Proposed/ New) National Research Foundation (NRF)
  • National Council of Educational Research and Training
  • National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration
  • National Accreditation and Assessment Council

NHERA (National Higher Education Regulatory Authority)

Within 6 months of NHERA formation. It shall develop a detailed plan for the implementation of the new regulatory regime, in collaboration with NAAC and other relevant bodies. This plan should include the details of the roles of all bodies (NHERA, NAAC, PSSBs, GEC, HEGC, AIs, HEIs, etc.)

NHERA shall be the sole regulator for higher education, including professional education.The regulatory role of the 17 or more professional councils such as the BCI, ICAR, MCI (or the proposed National Medical Commission – NMC), INC, VCI and others, with regard to professional education, will be converted to being Professional Standard Setting Bodies (PSSBs) as far as education is concerned.

UGC is now HEGC (Higher Education Grants Council)

The HEGC shall be responsible for disbursing developmental grants and fellowships across the entire higher education sector including professional education – the current UGC shall transform to the HEGC .

  • The UGC shall transition into the HEGC, continuing with the responsibility for funding institutions and individuals. Funding norms for institutions shall be re-examined, simplified, and streamlined.
  • The funding role of AICTE may also be transferred to the HEGC.
  • HEGC shall focus its energy on scholarships and on developmental funds to start new focus areas in HEIs
    across fields and disciplines.
  • Type 1: Focused on world-class research and high-quality teaching;
  • Type 2: Focused on high-quality teaching across disciplines with significant contribution to research;
  • Type 3: High-quality teaching focused on undergraduate education.

ECCE: New School Education System

In the National Education Policy (NEP 2020), the school education current curriculum is a reconfiguration of curricular and pedagogical structure with Early Childhood Care and Education (ECCE) as an integral part of school education is proposed.

In th ECCE School Education (3 years to 18 years) of pedagogical structure based on cognitive and socio-emotional developmental stages.

  • Foundational Stage (age 3-8 yrs): 3 years of pre-primary plus Grades 1-2;
  • Preparatory Stage (8-11 years): Grades 3-5;
  • Middle Stage (11-14 years): Grades 6-8;
  • Secondary Stage (14-18 years): Grades 9-12.

The secondary stage will comprise four years of study from Grade 9 to Grade 12, where each year is divided into
2 semesters, for a total of 8 semesters.

There will be no hard separation of learning areas in terms of curricular, co-curricular or extra- curricular areas and all subjects, including arts, music, crafts, sports, yoga, community service, etc. will be curricular.  It promotes active pedagogy that will focus on the development of core capacities: and life skills, including 21st-century skills.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x